After more than a month of political advertisements and discussion on who will control Washington, D.C. in the future, the much anticipated general election is Tuesday, Nov. 6.

California voters will choose a new governor, as well as other state and federal representatives. They will also decide the fate of 11 propositions, including the repeal of the gas tax, local authority over rent control, regulation of dialysis clinic charges, when daylight saving time will be held, confinement of farm animals, and ambulance employees’ break times.

Locally, candidates are vying for seats on the Chino and Chino Hills city councils, the Chino Valley school board, the Chino Valley Fire District board, and a water district that covers the Chino Valley. 

Chaffey Community College, which has campuses in Chino, Rancho Cucamonga, and Fontana, is asking voters to approve a $700,000 bond to improve its facilities. 

Chino Hills City Council

The Nov. 6 election marks the first time Chino Hills city council members will be elected based upon the district in which they live, selected by voters within that same district. Chino Hills city council elections will be conducted in Districts 1, 2 and 4.

Incumbent Ray Marquez is the lone candidate for the District 1 seat, and Mayor Peter Rogers faces no  challengers for District 2. Vying for the District 4 seat are appointed incumbent Brian Johsz; wealth advisor and Chaparral Elementary School parent Gabriel DeLuna; lifelong Los Serranos resident and food services worker Ronald Eaton; and Chino Hills attorney Rossana Mitchell-Arrieta.

For information on the Chino Hills City Council districts, visit:

Chino City Council

Seats on District 1, 2 and 3 are up for election for the Chino City Council.

Running for District 1 are appointed councilman Paul Rodriguez and Pomona elementary school teacher Tyra Weis. District 2 candidates are small business owner and high-density opponent Dorothy Pineda; former congresswoman and Chaffey College board member Gloria Negrete-McLeod; longtime Chino Valley school board member Sylvia Orozco; and Chino planning commissioner and retired Department of Corrections officer Mark Hargrove. Vying for District 3 are appointed councilman Gary George and law enforcement officer Marc Lucio.

To find out more about the districts for Chino, visit:

There are no districts for the Chino Valley Unified School District Board of Education candidates or the Chino Valley Fire District Board of Directors candidates. All those candidates are considered at-large, meaning they represent the entire district no matter their home address.

Seeking one of the two seats to be vacated by Chino Valley school board members Sylvia Orozco and Pamela Feix are Paulette De Soto Melton, a district parent; Jeff Vaka, co-owner of a firm that represents manufacturers; John Pruitt Jr., a former school board member and retired human resources consultant; Denise Hobbensiefken, a former employee of the now-defunct Oxford Preparatory Academy charter school; Brandon Blanchard, Chino city planning commissioner and a former school board member; Jody Dewan Moore, senior pastor of Praise Tabernacle Bible Church in Chino; Christina Gagnier, consumer privacy attorney; Joe Schaffer, Chino Hills Parks and Recreation Commissioner; and Don Bridge, former teacher and former Associated Chino Teachers union president.

Chino Valley Fire District Board 

Incumbents Mike Kreeger and Ed Gray, former board member and former Chino Valley Fire District captain Winn Williams, and Brett Tackman, an employment services specialist for San Bernardino County, are running for the two four-year terms on the board. 

Incumbent Harvey Luth, who was appointed to the board in 2017 to fill the seat vacated by Brian Johsz, will be re-appointed to the fire board’s two-year seat because he was the only official candidate for the post.

His name is not on the Nov. 6 ballot. 

The two-year seat will revert back to a four-year seat in the November 2020 election.

Inland Empire Utilities Agency

Incumbent Steve Elie of Chino Hills, a water attorney; and challenger Kimberly Y. Mosley of Chino, an engineer/consultant, will vie for the Division 3 seat on the Inland Empire Utilities Agency Board of Directors. Division 3 covers Chino and Chino Hills.

Monte Vista Water District

Incumbents G. Michael Milhiser and Phillip L. Erwin have no challengers, so will not appear on the ballot, according to the Registrar of Voters. They will begin their new four-year terms and serve in the same manner as if they were elected by the voters of the district, the Registrar said. The water district serves the City of Montclair, portions of northwest Chino, and the unincorporated area of San Bernardino County north of Chino. While the district does not service Chino Hills, it does sell water to the City of Chino Hills.

Chino Basin Water Conservation District

Ryan Sonnenberg, the only candidate seeking the Division 7 seat for the Chino Basin Water Conservation District Board of Directors, will automatically be appointed to the four-year term, the Registrar said. 

The seat was previously held by Geoff Vanden Heuvel, who moved in early summer to central California. Division 7 covers the Chino Valley.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.