The Ayala, Chino Hills and Ontario Christian high school football teams will compete Friday in CIF-Southern Section quarterfinal games.

The semifinals are scheduled for Friday, Nov. 22 with championship games set for Friday, Nov. 28 or 29.

Friday, Nov. 15 schedule

Crespi (7-4, Angelus League champ) at Ayala (11-0, Palomares League champion), 7 p.m.

Culver City (11-0, Ocean League champion, No. 1-ranked team in Div. 5) at Chino Hills (6-5, third-place Baseline League).

Ontario Christian (9-2, second-place Ambassador League) at Marina High (9-2, Big 4 League champion), 7 p.m. at Westminster High.

Friday, Nov. 8 (first-round results)

Ayala 42, Los Osos 28

Ayala’s Matthew Munoz scored on runs of 16- and 65-yards and quarterback Cole McCain tossed touchdown passes to Andrew Aguilar and Gilbert Duran in the Bulldogs’ win over the Grizzlies. Derrick McMillan returned an interception for a touchdown and Jacob Badawi scored on a 3-yard run for Ayala, which is 11-0 for the first time in school history.

Chino Hills 42, Mayfair 12

Chino Hills High quarterback Matthew Geeting threw five touchdown passes and Rayce Thornton ran for a touchdown for the Huskies, which has won four of their last five games.

Geeting, a junior, hit David Espinoza and James Murillo twice each on touchdowns and added one to Austin Urena in the victory.

The Huskies led 28-6 at the half.

Ontario Christian 41, Riverside Poly 14

Ontario Christian’s Maxwell Watkins ran for four touchdowns (4-, 32-, 2- and 97-yards) and Tyler Ford added a pair of touchdowns on runs of 18- and 16-yards in the Knights’ win over Riverside Poly.

The Knights improved to 9-2 on the season.

Burbank 40, Don Lugo 20

Don Lugo running back Gary Garcia scored on pair of 1-yard touchdown runs and quarterback Johnnie Valdez hit JoJo Galindo on a 14-yard touchdown pass, but the Conquistadores (4-7) had their season end with a 20-point loss to Burbank.

Don Lugo and Burbank have played each other three times in the CIF-Southern Section playoffs in the past four years with Burbank winning in 2016 and 2019 and Don Lugo winning in 2017.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.