Don Lugo High’s Morgan Graves

Don Lugo High’s Morgan Graves, a freshman, was named Mt. Baldy League girls’ volleyball Most Valuable Player for the 2021 season, leading the Conquistadores to the league championship with a 10-0 record. 


Sierra League

(Chino High athletes only)

Lineman of the Year: Roman Damas. 

First team, offense: Roman Damas, Abel Luna, Dennis Rocha, Favian Vasquez, Daniel Nakashima, Ramon Torres.

Second team, offense: Beau Parker.

First team, defense: Daniel Nakashima, Dylan Leach, Oscar Trujillo, Roman Damas, Pablo Estrada.

Second team, defense: Gilbert Galindo.

San Antonio League

(Don Lugo High athletes only)

First team, offense: Aaron Gutierrez, Luke Kemble, Kevin Garzanelli.

Second team, offense: Anthony Randazzo.

Second team, defense: Ayden Machado, Michael Leib, Hunter de los Reyes.

Boys cross country

Mt. Baldy League

Most Valuable Player: Jordan Berkley, Don Lugo. 

First team: Chino’s Rodrigo Aguilera and Joveth Carrasco; Don Lugo’s Jordan Berkley, Robbie Valdez and Haden Garcia; Ontario’s Daniel Beck; Chaffey’s Leonel Obregon, Jacob Diaz, John Payne and Nikolas Miramontes; Montclair’s Jerry Flores. 

Second team: Chino’s Ryan Chang, Adam Perez and Dominic Gonzales; Don Lugo’s Edward Lopez and Gustavo Gonzalez; Chaffey’s Daniel Reza; Baldwin Park’s Eduardo Frausto, William Rodriguez and Jose Bustamonte.

Girls cross country

Mt. Baldy League

Most Valuable Player: Mia Chavez, Chino. 

First team: Chino’s Mia Chavez and Alexis Wachowski; Don Lugo’s Aariana Amezcua and Nicole Boskovich; Ontario’s Angelique Martinez, Alondra Arias, Anella Pena and Natalie Lopez; Chaffey’s Elena Martinez and Roselyn Reza. 

Second team: Chino’s Isabella Kebenei and Elena Rossen; Don Lugo’s Baylin Polite and Naya Garcia; Ontario’s Jade Calderon and Gloria Lepe; Chaffey’s Arely Gomez and Kaylen Martinez; Montclair’s Lizbeth Garcia; Baldwin Park’s Isabella Salinas.

Girls volleyball

Mt. Baldy League

Most Valuable Player: Morgan Graves, Don Lugo.

First team: Don Lugo’s Capri Salmon, Nicole Boskovich and Elizabeth Ortiz; Chino’s Dyana Ulloa, Danielle Erlandson and Malani Johnson; Montclair’s Hiepsy Barrientos and Dayna Amphone; Ontario’s Elizabeth Navarro. 

Second team: Don Lugo’s Emily Baucher, Cheyenne Hernandez and Alejandra Arroyo; Chino’s Madisen Remis and Lyndsey Valverde; Montclair’s Paulina Rodriguez, Dalila Mata and Valerie Flores; Ontario’s Sandy Rodriguez and Alyssa Jimenez. 

Honorable mention: Don Lugo’s Kadie Fordyce, Sierra Beltran, Sophia Vasquez and Mireya Ortiz; Chino’s Tristen Amers; Chaffey’s Angelica Skaggs and Lauren Wesley; Montclair’s Samantha Guerra; Baldwin Park’s Sarah Yith, Michaella Ibarra and Areley Parra; Ontario’s Sofia Femath.

Boys water polo

Mt. Baldy League

Co-Most Valuable Players: Paul McNaughton, Don Lugo; Max Cantos, Don Lugo.

First team: Don Lugo’s Joshua Rizo, Ethan Brown, Justin Lopez and Austin Cantos; Chino’s Brady Quinzon and Vincent Garibay; Ontario’s Julian Tuttobene, Ashton Brady-Loftin and John Royal; Montclair’s Matthew Ramirez.

Second team: Don Lugo’s Mikey Brown, Noah Plunkett, Arthur Gonzales, Felix Cornejo, Rayl Barajas, Travis Baucher and Garrett Briggs; Ontario’s Kyle Gileot and Andrew Leyva; Montclair’s Quentin Holden and Levi Wyles; Baldwin Park’s Henry De Luna and Cristian Duran; Chaffey’s Gerardo Partida.

Honorable mention: Don Lugo’s Victor Santos, Anden Beers and Isaiah McMullin; Ontario’s Luis Chavez, Victor Chavez, Daniel Setiawan and Jimmy Rey Gonzalez; Chaffey’s Ian Partida and Adrian Lopez.

Girls tennis

Mt. Baldy League

Most Valuable Player, singles: Falyse Sheets, Chino.

Most Valuable Players, doubles: Jessica Tran and Karen Xu, Montclair.

First team, singles: Ontario’s Hayley Medina and Hillary Nguyen; Chaffey’s Angie Vasquez.

Second team, singles: Chino’s Ashley Medel-Mejia and Brooklynn Bradley; Chaffey’s Angie Vasquez.

Honorable mention, singles: Baldwin Park’s Silence Khepri Jackson.

First team, doubles: Chino’s Erica Valenzuela and Rilynn Green; Chino’s Elaine Reyes and Kassandra Jimenez; Chaffey’s Alissa Tagle and Esme Orozco.

Second team, doubles: Chino’s Marissa Gozun and Cura Barragan-Ochoa; Chaffey’s Brigette Percastegui and Marissa Aguilar; Chaffey’s Mia Gabriel and Sophia Sanchez.

Honorable mention, doubles: Montclair’s Helen Huynh and Lena Tran.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.